VIEA

Our Team

VIEA PRESIDENT

George Hanson, M.Sc., CHRP, President
250-667-5225 / george@viea.ca

George Hanson

Well known for his achievements in community, organizational and economic development, George has a reputation for getting things done and ‘making a difference’. He has consulted for corporations, community organizations, district, municipal, provincial and federal governments on Vancouver Island and beyond. George has led a comprehensive urban renewal project to considerable, award-winning success—attracting significant business and redevelopment investment while helping to guide design policy.

He has served on numerous community committees charged with improving social, educational and economic conditions . He served as President of the Business Improvement Areas of British Columbia for two terms; served on Boards of the Oceanside Development and Construction Association and Nanaimo Minor Baseball Association; is a founding member and former Chair of YES Nanaimo; is a member of the Habitat for Humanity property Acquisition Committee; and is Vice-President of the Nanaimo Foundation.

George is the former Managing Director for the Downtown Nanaimo Partnership, former Development Manager for InSight Developments. He is Managing Partner of Clayton Consulting and President of the Vancouver Island Economic Alliance.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

VIEA’s Board of Directors is comprised of a cross-section of public and private representatives, drawn from across Vancouver Island, who provide a wealth of business, community, and local government experience.

Darrell Paysen, Chair Vancouver Island Real Estate Board Duncan dpaysen@vireb.com
Bret Torok-Both, Chair Elect Coast Capital Savings Cowichan Bret.Torok-Both@coastcapitalsavings.com
Po Wan, Past Chair Blackberry Creative Qualicum Beach pwanblackberry@shaw.ca
Ron Cantelon, Director Ron Cantelon Consulting Nanaimo roncantelon@gmail.com
Sandy Herle, Director Close to You Fashions Parksville sandy@closetoyou.ca
Dave Willie, Director Black and White Event Rentals Parksville dave@bwparty.com
Gillian Trumper, Director Port Alberni Port Authority Port Alberni gtrumper@shaw.ca
Giles Newman, Director BDO Consulting Victoria gnewman@bdo.ca
Lillian Hunt, Director Aboriginal Tourism BC Alert Bay lhunt@aboriginalbc.com
Gaby Wickstrom, Director Port McNeill Chamber of Commerce Port McNeill oceanviewds@gmail.com
Kevin Onclin, Director Badinotti Net Services Canada Ltd. Campbell River kevin.onclin@badinotti.com
Dan Dagg, Director Hot House Marketing Victoria dan@hothousemarketing.com
Dan Hurley, Director Pearson College UWC Victoria DHurley@pearsoncollege.ca
Mark Smith, Director Query Technologies Victoria mark.smith@querytechnologies.com

ADVISORS

VIEA draws on a group of knowledgeable and experienced advisors. Browse the list below.

Colleen Evans, President & CEO Campbell River & District Chamber of Commerce Campbell River colleen.evans@campbellriverchamber.ca
Rick Roberts, Owner Rick Roberts Consulting Parksville rick.roberts@shaw.ca
Pedro Marquez, Vice President, Global, Marketing and Business Development Royal Roads University Victoria pedro.marquez@royalroads.ca
Did you find what you're looking for?
YES
NO
We're glad to hear it! If you need anything please email us or give us a call at 250-667-5225.
We'd love to help! Let us know what you are looking for and our team will be in touch soon!