Our Team

VIEA President

George Hanson, M.Sc., President
250-667-5225 / Email George

Well known for his achievements in community, organizational and economic development, George has a reputation for getting things done and ‘making a difference’. He has consulted for corporations, community organizations, district, municipal, provincial and federal governments on Vancouver Island and beyond. George has led a comprehensive urban renewal project to considerable, award-winning success—attracting significant business and redevelopment investment while helping to guide design policy.

He has served on numerous community committees charged with improving social, educational and economic conditions . He served as President of the Business Improvement Areas of British Columbia for two terms; served on Boards of the Oceanside Development and Construction Association and Nanaimo Minor Baseball Association; is a founding member and former Chair of YES Nanaimo; is a member of the Habitat for Humanity property Acquisition Committee; and is Vice-President of the Nanaimo Foundation.

George is the former Managing Director for the Downtown Nanaimo Partnership, former Development Manager for InSight Developments. He is Managing Partner of Clayton Consulting and President of the Vancouver Island Economic Alliance.

Board of Directors

VIEA’s Board of Directors is comprised of a cross-section of public and private representatives, drawn from across Vancouver Island, who provide a wealth of business, community, and local government experience.

Shannon Baikie, Chair North Island Employment Foundations Society Campbell River
Trevor Cootes, Chair-Elect Huu-ay-aht First Nations Government Port Alberni
Dan Hurley, Past Chair Hurley Martin Group Gabriola Island
Julie Scurr, Treasurer Coast Salish Insurance Duncan
Katie Bishop, Director Self-employed Victoria
Janet Bonaguro, Director ThinkSpace Performance Inc. Cumberland
Jolleen Dick, Director Tourism Vancouver Island Port Alberni
Suzanne Hedges, Director Tourism Vancouver Island Parksville
Dirk Heydemann, Director HA Cyan Creative Inc. & HA Photography Nanaimo
Elizabeth Johnston, Director Ministry of Jobs, Economic Development and Competitiveness Victoria
Angela Smith, Director Creative Exposure Inc. Port Hardy
Chris Theeparajah, Director Export Development Canada Victoria
Bret Torok-Both, Director, Wood Industries Committee Chair Coast Capital Savings Cowichan
Steve Touhey, Director Inland Truck and Equipment Nanaimo
Dr. Nicole Vaugeois, Director VIU Nanaimo
Heather Clarke, Director Poseidon Ocean Systems Ltd. Campbell River
Did you find what you're looking for?
We're glad to hear it! If you need anything please email us or give us a call at 250-667-5225.
We'd love to help! Let us know what you are looking for and our team will be in touch soon!